Snow White

By: Dr. Gil Lain, Lead Pastor

Have you noticed that the story of Snow White is making a comeback? I’m aware of two movies about Snow White that came out this year – – Snow White and the Huntsman and Mirror Mirror. I’ve also watched on television, the series, Once Upon A Time. I’m not sure why all the attention – – maybe people feel like they just need to escape for a while. Entering into a fairy tale may be one way to do that.

Anyway, back to Snow White. Let me pass along an observation Dan Piette made from the storyline of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. I think it says a lot about human nature. He noted that, statistically speaking, six out of seven dwarfs are not “Happy.” (Houston Chronicle, 6/24/12, p. G12).

As you probably know, happiness is based on what happens. So, sometimes we’re happy. Sometimes we’re not. Joy, on the other hand, is not based on circumstances, but on faith. Really, it is the end result of the Lord loving us and being with us. Psalm 16:11 says…”in Thy presence is fullness of joy.”

I’d suggest that when you know that and trust Christ, you’ll come a lot closer to living “happily ever after.”

Leave a comment